Diffraction Workshop at NASSCC-2015

"Modern Methods in Rietveld Refinement for Structural Analysis"

(May 19-21)

The workshop is oversubscribed, and applications are no longer being accepted.

Workshop Agenda

The primary goal of this workshop is to teach participants Rietveld refinement methods for evaluating 3D crystal structures from 1D powder diffraction data, with an emphasis on data collected on “high-resolution” structural user facility beamlines such as the 11-BM synchrotron beamline at the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory, or the POWGEN and NOMAD time-of-flight neutron diffraction beamlines at the Spallation Neutron Source of Oak Ridge National Laboratory. The combination of “high-resolution” data and advances in modern software algorithms are allowing many challenging structural problems to be resolved solely from powder diffraction data, and an up-to-date instruction in modern methods and advanced techniques will be provided. This course will emphasize traditional non-molecular solid state compounds, and use the TOPAS software as the platform for Rietveld refinement (complementary trial license for participants) to facilitate teaching. Instructors will be Prof. Peter Khalifah (Stony Brook University), Prof. Cora Lind (University of Toledo), Dr. Pamela Whitfield (ORNL), Dr. Katharine Page (ORNL), Dr. Saul Lapidus (ANL), and Dr. Arnt Kern (Bruker-AXS).

Workshop Application

A completed application form and a recommendation letter from the research advisor, as well as any questions about this school, should be sent by email to Prof. Peter Khalifah (Peter.Khalifah at stonybrook.edu). The final acceptances to the workshop will be communicated not later than March 10.

Accommodations and Meals

The workshop is free. The participants will be housed in the FSU dorms. A meal plan will be provided for all 3 days of the workshop. The participants have to arrange for transportation to Tallahassee on their own. Complementary transportation from the Tallahassee airport to the workshop site will be provided.

Sponsored by:
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry (FSU)
Office of Research, Florida State University
College of Arts & Sciences (FSU)
National High Magnetic Field Laboratory
U.S. National Committee for Crystallography
ACS, Chemistry of Materials
Elsevier, Journal of Solid State Chemistry
The Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre
CrystalMaker Software Ltd.
Quantum Design